UVic releases statement on Sexualized Violence and it is bull.

First I want to acknowledge that Jamie Cassels statement can be celebratory for folks and those who’ve been impacted by sexualized violence and that is 100% absolutely without a doubt, valid. Anyone with these experiences can feel however they want about this piece…. I understand that after so long of Uvic not saying anything- this can be a lot. The reality is Uvic has had many opportunities and this is the first time they are explicitly stating that sexualized violence is a big issue.

Keeping that in mind, I too am entitled to form my own thoughts and feelings about this-

I get how this can be a step in the right direction…. but it feels so fake to me and very dismissive of the realities even still….. Uvic has a knack for still finding ways to make themselves look good and protect their precious image….

CN: Rant

——

Reading this has made me so angry.

I do not experience this is as any acknowledgement…. I find it insulting frown emoticon

Uvic has, yet again, tried to spin the realities of violence on campus to still come out in their favour.

“The University of Victoria is committed to the principles of equal rights and dignity of all persons and to being a place where students, faculty and staff can learn, work and live with mutual respect in a safe community.” LIE

“I want to make it clear that sexual assault and other unwelcome sexual conduct are utterly at odds with our values and are not tolerated.” LIE.

“UVic has policies and practices related to education, prevention and response to sexualized violence.” LIE. (The only things in place are a direct result of students, the Student Union, and student groups/advocacy that Uvic claims as their own.(

“Recent focus on this issue on our campus and beyond, as well as advocacy by student and other groups, have made it clear that we need to do more.” LIE….
It is fear of losing the image of being the pillars of a progressive, safe, and inclusive campus now that this has made the media and provincial recognition. (Yes, students made it clear, but UVic didn’t care until it threatened their precious image).

And even though his saying “however, on our campus, as well as at other universities and in the wider community, sexual and gender-based violence is a significant issue” sheds light on the realities- it also serves to water down UVic’s complicity.

This is so ridiculous it makes my head spin. So they’ve been locked behind closed doors panicing about losing their reputation and are trying to get ahead of this while still not acknowledging the ACTIVE and CONTINUAL efforts to silence, intimidate, and harm those who’ve experienced sexualized violence on campus.

This statement says nothing about that. It is no acknowledgement. It is no apology. It is a way to make UVic look like they have our best interests at heart when they are still thinking about their damn image and pocketbooks.

This is GASLIGHTING.

This is pretending the severe level of under-reporting and intimidation and silencing has not occurred at there just was some kind of miscommunication. They aren’t acknowledging the amount of harm they have actively caused. They are also still claiming to be the ones putting forward amazing initiatives when it was always the students and the student union doing so.

They silence sexual assault survivors because they could get away with it.

Now when they are getting pressure in the media and from government they cave and release a shitty statement that acknowledges nothing and commits to nothing.

What a joke. This is insulting.

http://www.uvic.ca/president/activities/index.php…

‪#‎FallingOffTheUvicEdge‬

About Reclaimingkatie

I have no idea how to begin my story. All I know is that it is far from over. My story isn’t an inspiration and my life is not courageous. I just existed the best I could. It was only recently that I even grew to know my memories are real. I know now that I am not crazy. I did not invent my pain; however, most people who meet me will always believe otherwise. I don’t need anyone else to tell me who I am now. I once heard, "you cannot escape a prison if you can't see the bars".... I now see the social constructions that have shaped my life and will do my best to dismantle them. This is me- deconstructing the contamination of innocence.
This entry was posted in Discussions, Sexual Assault, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

