Complicity in violence

We are all complicit in violence, no matter how good our intents are….

I have experienced a lot of violence, but I have also perpetrated a lot of violence. My mere sitting here on unceded territory as a white settler continues this violent cycle. My intersections of privilege unwittingly enact violence- but it is violence all the same.

I am starting to learn what it means to do healing work within a community of people. How do we make changes to a community if those who have caused harm are excluded from the process….?

There are very few people who intentionally cause egregious harm to others…. This idea of “good” vs “bad” hides the fact that we are all complicit, which creates feelings of shame when we have done something wrong- because we don;t want to see ourselves as ‘bad.’ That shame makes us defensive about looking at the areas we have caused harm, rather than dealing with it…

It is a far greater process to acknowledge the harm we have caused and ask what we can do to change it in the future- rather than pretend it just doesn’t exist, or worse, minimizing/denying the experience of those who are on the receiving end of it.

“By dismissing perpetrators as monsters, it allows us not to analyze our own actions” -Jeremy Loveday

About Reclaimingkatie

I have no idea how to begin my story. All I know is that it is far from over. My story isn’t an inspiration and my life is not courageous. I just existed the best I could. It was only recently that I even grew to know my memories are real. I know now that I am not crazy. I did not invent my pain; however, most people who meet me will always believe otherwise. I don’t need anyone else to tell me who I am now. I once heard, "you cannot escape a prison if you can't see the bars".... I now see the social constructions that have shaped my life and will do my best to dismantle them. This is me- deconstructing the contamination of innocence.
This entry was posted in Discussions, Intersectionality, Quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

