I was homeless at 18 during my first year of college (not to mention some of my teen years during high school)… It made it incredibly difficult to function and attend classes. I ended up dropping out for a year and then returning to try to do my CYCC diploma… I ended up leaving again due to housing issues. (10 years later and I still haven’t complete this diploma)

These issues seemed insurmountable at the time…. It was easier to give in to the societal pressures and not fight for my place in the world…. I had every reason to.

The police made things so much worse for me. I had my belongings (including textbooks) thrown away, as well as being constantly worried about being harassed and arrested for just existing.

People who are marginalized due to their race, class, ability, sexuality, etc are continually abused and hurt and then blamed for their pain in order to ignore the complicity we all face in that oppression.

Police are trained to enforce laws that continually engender violence and oppression while benefiting those with privilege…. This is done in the name of justice, but if you give someone authority and power over another person- injustice is always the end result.

“The military is what people in power use to enforce their beliefs on other countries, the police force are what people in power use to enforce their beliefs within a country” -Charlie Steele

Keywords: Power and force.

It isn’t about safety, protection, or care… It is intentionally acrimonious and the more marginalized one is- the worse the force becomes.

This needs to stop. Period.

http://lostcoastoutpost.com/2015/mar/27/university-police-tase-homeless-man-campus-former/

About Reclaimingkatie

I have no idea how to begin my story. All I know is that it is far from over. My story isn’t an inspiration and my life is not courageous. I just existed the best I could. It was only recently that I even grew to know my memories are real. I know now that I am not crazy. I did not invent my pain; however, most people who meet me will always believe otherwise. I don’t need anyone else to tell me who I am now. I once heard, "you cannot escape a prison if you can't see the bars".... I now see the social constructions that have shaped my life and will do my best to dismantle them. This is me- deconstructing the contamination of innocence.
This entry was posted in Discussions, Homelessness, Intersectionality, Police and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

